Film & TV 1 final (first) post

Some quick thoughts from the Film & TV 1 screening last Thursday. Really enjoyed being able to see everyone’s final cuts, they all ended up looking really good and it made for a really enjoyable 3 or so hours that didn’t drag at all.. 😐

Way too many films to mention so I’ll go through the ones that stick out to me still, a few days later.

Crumpets

Thought this was really great, especially in its shot construction and lighting. There were also some great performances from the actors, especially from the female lead who was just disgusting when she was whispering into the main character’s ear. There was definitely an improvement from when I saw the rough cut during the toaster scene as it came off much less gimmicky and gave the impression that the toaster was on much more effectively.

Hilarious Transplant

Absolutely wacky, loved every moment of it. Particular mention must go to the elaborate production design and the extremely clever screenplay. The animation sequence was something people will be writing about for years to come. Reminded me very much of Numberwang, I’m sure someone will get that reference.

About A Dog

Probably the tightest, most professional looking film of the night. There was obviously a lot of work done on colour grading (as well as a title change) since I saw the rough cut and it was well worth the effort, the final cut just looked great. I’m glad the overhead shot was used and that the issue of lighting difference was fixed as it really added to the end product. People are going to jump on the John Jarratt/Mick Taylor comparisons which would be fair as there was obviously a lot drawn from that character but it was great performance either way. Well worth putting up with an apparently difficult actor.

Jack and the Box

I’m assuming this is the one about a guy named Jack who has a box ? I think it was. I may be wrong. Anyway I really enjoyed the lack of dialogue in this one, it raised suspense in a way that I think may have been lost otherwise. There were some really great shots throughout as well, I’m reminded especially of the part when the man walks past the window and his shadow is cast on the curtain. We may never know what was in the box but I’m going to make a bold statement and say it was Brad Pitt’s wife’s severed head..

Rent Day

Great performances from the actors was aided by a very strong, funny script. Loved the 80s style to it, was a pleasant divergence after seeing a whole bunch of films from a similar time and space. The super slow mo of the girl was so well done and really suited the style. I was also humoured by the fact that the Jewish girl’s name was Juanita. It’s all in the details.

Loot

Little known fact, I used to work at a juice bar in my formative years so naturally there was an extra humour in Loot for me. I thought the female lead gave the funniest performance of the night by quite a bit. She was really quite great. The script was really witty and the production design was out of this world good.

I definitely missed some great ones but that is all I have for the moment. Thanks all for an enjoyable evening.

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment